Fløibanen in Bergen

The Fløibanen is a rail-running cable car for passenger traffic between Bergen city center and the Fløyen viewpoint located at 320 m above sea level. The Fløibanen and Fløyen are an iconic feature of Bergen and at the same time one of Norway’s most visited and largest tourist attractions, which in 2015 had a record of 1,575,503 boardings.

Construction work began in 1914 and the line began regular passenger traffic on 15 January 1918. The length is 850 metres, and the height difference is 300 metres. The one-way trip usually takes five to eight minutes with one of the two modern panoramic carriages Rødhette and Blåmann. You can both roll and walk on board from updated stops.

In the autumn of 2021, conversion to the 5th generation Fløibane started. This is the largest reconstruction in the Fløibanen’s history, where both tracks, machinery and control system were upgraded to the most modern and up-to-date. Each carriage can take 120 passengers. In addition, all stations are now universally designed, which makes the journey more pleasant for all user groups. It is still the counterbalance principle that brings the lanes up and down.

Before the pandemic in 2020 and 2021, the number of passengers increased to approx. 2 million boardings per year. The rebuilding was therefore necessary to be able to take off for future visitors, but at the same time the old wagons and machinery were scrapped and worn out after having driven a lot up and down the mountainside in recent years. The new Fløibanen opened on 1 April 2022.

It has never been easier to look out over the world’s most beautiful city – Go take the track!

Fløibanen (2)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Dietmar Anders, Malente

Fløibanen in Bergen

Die Fløibanen ist eine schienenbetriebene Seilbahn für den Personenverkehr zwischen dem Stadtzentrum von Bergen und dem Aussichtspunkt Fløyen auf 320 m über dem Meeresspiegel. Die Fløibanen und Fløyen sind Wahrzeichen von Bergen und gleichzeitig eine der meistbesuchten und größten Touristenattraktionen Norwegens, die 2015 einen Rekord von 1.575.503 Passagieren verzeichnete.

Die Bauarbeiten begannen 1914 und die Strecke nahm am 15. Januar 1918 den regulären Personenverkehr auf. Die Länge beträgt 850 Meter, der Höhenunterschied 300 Meter. Die einfache Fahrt dauert in der Regel fünf bis acht Minuten mit einem der beiden modernen Panoramawagen Rødhette und Blåmann. Sie können von erneuerten Haltestellen sowohl rollen als auch zu Fuß an Bord gehen.

Im Herbst 2021 begann die Umstellung auf die Fløibane der 5. Generation. Dies ist der größte Umbau in der Geschichte der Fløibanen, bei dem sowohl die Gleise als auch die Maschinen und das Steuerungssystem auf die modernste und aktuellste Version gebracht wurden. Jeder Waggon kann jetzt 120 Passagiere aufnehmen. Zudem sind nun alle Stationen barrierefrei gestaltet, was die Fahrt für alle Nutzergruppen angenehmer macht. Es ist immer noch das Gegengewichtsprinzip, das die Bahnen auf und ab bringt.

Vor der Pandemie in den Jahren 2020 und 2021 stieg die Zahl der Passagiere auf ca. 2 Millionen pro Jahr. Der Umbau war also notwendig, um für zukünftige Besucher abheben zu können, aber gleichzeitig waren die alten Waggons und Maschinen schrottreif und verschlissen, nachdem sie in den letzten Jahren viel Bergauf und -ab gefahren waren. Die neue Fløibanen wurde am 1. April 2022 eröffnet.

Es war noch nie so einfach, einen Blick über die schönste Stadt der Welt zu werfen – Gehen Sie auf die Bahn!

Fløibanen (2)

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Seite verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahren Sie, wie Ihre Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Dietmar Anders, Malente